Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Erasmus plus & Greek Cooking

What is Erasmus Plus?
Erasmus Plus is the new EU programme for education, training, youth and sport for the period 2014-2020.

It replaces several existing programs that cover all sectors of education: the program for lifelong learningErasmus (higher education), Leonardo da Vinci (vocational education), Comenius (school education),Grundtvig (adult education).
In particular, the Key Action 1 for mobility for individual learning provides learning opportunities for individuals, both within and outside the EU (study and training, internships, teaching and professional development). The action key 1 allows learning programs abroad to people from all sectors of education and training, expecially teachers.

How to apply for the Scholarship Erasmus Plus
You must contact the school where you want to do the course and ask for a confirmation for the course with an indication of the following points:
- denomination of the course
- start and end dates
- cost of the course
- program of the course
Which countries can participate to Erasmus Plus ?- The EU Member States
- The member countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries which have signed the Agreement of the European Economic Area (EEA)
- The Switzerland - provided that it has signed an international agreement
Who can participate?
The teachers from the following EU Programme Countries
(Individuals from an Overseas Country and Territory (OCT), and where applicable the relevant public and/or private bodies and institutions in an OCT, shall be eligible for the Erasmus+, subject to the rules of the Programme and the arrangements applicable to the Member State with which they are connected. The concerned OCTs are listed in annex 1A of Council decision of 27 November 2001 on the association of the overseas countries and territories with the European Community (2200/822/EC), OJ L 314 of 30 November 2001.):
Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden, United Kingdom.

Non EU Programme Countries
former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey.

Partner Countries neighbouring the EU
(The eligibility criteria formulated in commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide)
Eastern Partnership countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine.
Southern Mediterranean countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia.
Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo (This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence), Montenegro, Serbia.
Other: Russian Federation.

Aegean Flavours, our family run business, hosts these programs by offering a number of seminars and cooking classes in Santorini, Athens, Poros, Nafplio and Crete. For any information you can send us a mail on All you need to do is apply for funding through the Erasmus offices in your country and if it is approved (For more information, please, visit the Eu website: then you can be educated in terms of Greek Gastronomy with us here in Greece.

1 comment: